Chinese rocket debris set for uncontrolled re-entry by late Saturday

DM

SHANGHAI — Remnants of China’s largest rocket launched last week are expected to plunge back through the atmosphere late Saturday or early Sunday, European and U.S. tracking centers said on Saturday. EU Space Surveillance and Tracking (EU SST) said its latest prediction for the timing of the re-entry of the Long March 5B rocket body was 139 minutes either side of 2:32 a.m. GMT on Sunday (10:32 p.m. EDT Saturday). The U.S. Space Command on Saturday estimated re-entry would occur at 2:04 a.m. GMT on Sunday (10:04 p.m. EDT Saturday), plus or minus one hour, while the Center for Orbital Reentry and Debris Studies (CORDS) at Aerospace Corporation, a U.S. federally funded space-focused research and development center, updated its prediction to four hours either side of 3:30 a.m. GMT on Sunday (11:30 p.m. EDT Saturday).

Notifications - Subscriptions
Notify of
2 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

2
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x